top of page

About The Friends of La Vase Portages

La Vase Portages is a 10 kilometer section of the historic Voyageur canoe route crosses the height of land between the Mattawa and French Rivers and our goal is to have its historic and heritage importance recognized and protected for future generations.  

Over recent years La Vase Portages have suffered from neglect and indifference seeing encroachment from residential and industrial interests along the south end and more recently from proposed quarrying expansions and private property issues at the north end.

By speaking with groups and individuals  with varying interests along the route as well as various levels of government Friends of La Vase Portages have been working to keep the trail open and protected for future use.  Over the last three years we have been brushing and signing the sections of the trail that still run over Crown Lands or North Bay Mattawa Conservation Authority property as well as hosting a public La Vase Heritage Canoe Day to travel the route as a group.

While co-operation and support from property owners along the route has been generally positive, further work remains to be done to see the historic route receive more complete and  long term protection and recognition as a heritage canoe route. 


Board Of Directors


Bernie Stockermans (Chair)

John Wipprecht, (Treasurer)

Chris Mayne

Cliff Moulder

Fred McNutt

Glenn Tunnock

Scott Taylor

Board Meetings


FOLVP Board Meetings take place periodically throughout the year. However, the FOLVP Annual General Meeting

and Elections will take place

in November of each year.

February 26, 2016, Friends of La Vase Portages were presented the Lt Governor's Ontario Trust Award for Conservation Leadership by Lt Governor Elizabeth Dowdeswall at Queen's Park, Toronto. 

(From left to right) 

John Symons - Ontario Trust Chair, Bernie Stockermans - Friends of La Vase Director, Fred McNutt - Past Chair Friends of La Vase,

Chris Mayne - Past Chair Friends of La Vase,

John Wipprecht - Chair Friends of La Vase Portages,

Elizabeth Dowdeswall - Lt Governor of Ontario.  

bottom of page